Umpire's Training & Certification

Run Out

  1. The batsman must have some part of his bat or body grounded beyond the crease - on the line would be out.
  2. A batsman is not run out if he has been within his ground and has subsequently left it to avoid injury when the wicket is put down. So that means a batsman cannot be run out when taking evasive action from a throw if he has not left his crease.
  3. You can be run out off a no-ball. The bowler does not get credited with the wicket. The umpire should try to quickly get in position (if possible) from where judging a runout will be easier.
  4. If a wicket falls before the batsmen cross, then the batsman running away from that crease is given an out. If the two have crossed and a wicket falls, then the batsman running toward that crease is out. In short, the closest batsman to the fallen wicket is given an out for run out no matter when or if the batsmen cross over on the pitch.
  5. If both batsmen end up at same end then the batsmen, who got there first is NOT OUT. If a batsman stands in his crease but has to duck or jump out of the way to avoid being hurt by a moving cricket ball or player, then she can't be given an out. If the ball rebounds off a player's helmet and directly onto the stumps while the player is out of the crease, it's not deemed an out.

Handled The Ball

  1. If a batsman is worried the ball will roll back on to the stumps after playing a shot, they can knock the ball away with the bat, feet or pads. But if they use their hands they can be given out handled the ball.
  2. When a batsman picks the ball up off the pitch to pass the ball back to the fielding side though, this is fine. The bowler does not get credit for the wicket.

Timed Out

  1. If the New Batsman does walk in before the outgoing batsman has crossed the boundary line towards the pavilion, he is announced ‘Timed Out’.
  2. Bowler does not get credit for this wicket.

Hit the ball twice

  1. A batter can be given out "hit the ball twice" if the second strike is deliberate.
  2. Exception : Protecting their wicket (ie: stopping the ball from rolling back on to the stumps). And returning the ball to the fielding team, with their permission
  3. The batsman is not allowed to hit the ball a second time to prevent a catch - and he is also out if in hitting the ball a second time to protect his wicket, he prevents a catch.
  4. The bowler does not get credit for the wicket.

Obstructing the field

  1. TThe umpire can give a batsman out "obstructing the field" if he feels the batter has got in the way of a fielder who is about to take a catch or attempt a run-out.
  2. Bowler does not get credit for this wicket.